SOM

As we enter the second to last weekend of our 52 show run, with 2 shows each day – Saturday and Sunday – our countdown of shows left to do stands at 12. Doing our 40th show tonight reminds me of a few realities:

1) Doing a show – indeed, being a performer – is repetitious; after the creative aspects of a show are accomplished and set in place, the whole idea is to repeat them, just as they have been set by the director. So repeat them we do. And if we go astray, our watchful stage manager, Ed Stockman, will set us back on the path.

2) The audiences’ experience is just the opposite. They are in the first moment of experience at all times. Everything that we do is new to them – not a repeat at all. (Unless, of course, they have come back for a second show.)

3) The kids in this show are a very hardy lot! They seem to be onstage all the time! Or they are changing costumes…to go back onstage. I really feel that they have weathered the long run very well. I am sure many of them are eager to get to their summer vacationing time, which has been on hold.

4) Whereas I usually lose a bit of weight during a show, I have not done so during this run. That would be due to the regular stream of wonderful snacks that many of the cast members have brought in to share. And which I eat.

David Schmittou as Captain Von Trapp and Cara Statham Serber as Maria in B&B's "The Sound of Music"

David Schmittou as Captain Von Trapp and Cara Statham Serber as Maria in B&B’s “The Sound of Music”

5) The theatre professionals, especially those with the leading roles, are truly amazing in their talents, their abilities and their tirelessness. I have seen top-notch performances night after night from performers that I know have had a physical ailment, or were tired, or just had other consequential things going on in their lives. I tip my hat to them. In them, I have witnessed a level of professionalism that is exemplary and I hope the younger actors and actresses have noticed it as well.

6) Unlike said professionals, I am looking forward to getting back to my light-load routine – being retired in the summertime, spending evenings with my wife, minimum responsibilities, and perhaps having a choice of future projects when I want to get involved. That is not to say that I have not enjoyed being a small part of this extremely successful production, not that at all. But it will be nice to have a break.

7) The professionals move on to their next projects rather quickly. One or two of them will start on their next show before this one ends (next week marks the start of rehearsals for B&B’s Smoke on the Mountain), and I know of another who will be flying out to start their next show’s rehearsals just two days after we close. Plus the actors for the next B&B show have started arriving to begin their 10 days of rehearsal. Professional theatre at this level is quite an amazing thing. It goes on and on, it never stops and it has all the variety one could ask for.

8) Finally, I am thankful for the new friends and acquaintances I have made. I like to think that we may work together again in future projects. Theatre is a lot about who you know, who you have already worked with and shown your talents to. Quite often, a name gets dropped when a need comes up and bang, just like that you may be in a show with someone you have worked with before. That is just how it works sometimes.

If you are interested in attending Rodgers and Hammerstein’s The Sound of Music OR Smoke on the Mountain at Beef and Board Dinner Theatre in Indianapolis, ticket information can be found by calling 317-872-9664. The current show runs thru Sunday June 30. The next show opens July 5. Further info about the shows can be found at http://www.beefandboards.com .

*Show pictures from The Sound of Music by Julie Curry

