SOM

About two weeks ago I got a call from Eddie Curry, who is, among other things, the Casting Director at Beef and Boards Dinner Theatre here in Indianapolis. He asked if I would be interested in taking a part, actually several small parts, in B&B’s upcoming production of The Sound of Music. It’s always great to work at Beef and Boards – they produce some of the best music productions in the area, they have an excellent facility, and, being an Actors’ Equity Association theatre – they pay their actors. (Don’t get me wrong, I love theatre and being on stage, but it is always especially nice for someone to pay me to do so.) Since my schedule was clear, I agreed to become a cast member and signed on to play Admiral Von Schreiber, a party guest named Baron Elberfeld, and the priest who marries Captain Von Trapp and Maria.

My rehearsals start tomorrow, Monday May 6 and we will open on Thursday, May 16. That is common practice in professional theatres – 10 or so days of rehearsal. It strikes me how different it is to prepare a community theatre show versus a professional level production. In community theatre, at least in our area, we will rehearse 6 weeks and run the show for 8 or 9 performances. Conversely, at B&B we will run the show for 6 weeks and rehearse for 10 or so days. Anyway, the process is strikingly different.

I notice from the cast list that there are several people I know who are also in the production. The Mother Abbess is being played by Suzanne Stark whom I met two summers ago when we worked together on a film for The Indianapolis Children’s Museum. It is called “Flight Adventures” and has been shown all over the U.S. and as far away as India. Also in the cast is Susan B. Smith, whom I have known for a long time from productions at Carmel Community Players, but have never been in a show with. Plus, I see some names of actors I recognize, and will be glad to get to know.

So for the next eight weeks, I will attempt to chronicle the events surrounding my participation in this wonderful show. If you have an interest in attending the show, you can call the B&B box office for reservations and pricing information at 317-872-9664. The show runs May 16 thru June 30.

