The stage is ready for "Almost, Maine" at CCP

Ready. Finished. At last!

After much hard work, and daily help from Bruce K (although at times, I am not sure that it was not: me, helping him), the set is built, painted, decorated, festooned, covered, snowed upon, and done. So finally the show is ready – and with not a moment to spare as tonight is final dress, tomorrow is preview night and Thursday is our opening.

The actors have been ready for a while. After Sunday’s short 2 1/2 hour tech rehearsal – they have had 2 nights off and should be ready for the big week of shows. They are an amazing group, I must say. Full of talent, but ultimately very directable, they have shaped and honed their performances together into what should be a very memorable show. Ericka Barker, Carrie Schlatter, Daniel Shock, Joshua Ramsey, Gavin Rulon and Tamara Rulon are all to be much admired for the work they have put into this show.

But it all starts with the great script by John Cariani. The humor and touching sweetness that he has created in this work is a wonderfully balanced literary piece which is bound to please our audience. The cast, as I have said before, rocks! And I must say, I am very proud of our set. Bruce and I have tried to create an outdoor/indoor presence onstage and from my vantage point, it seems to have worked.

So finally I can relax. Oh, I have the responsibility of running the lights and sound – but the hard work is finished and the enjoyment has yet to begin. I hope that if you possibly can, you will come to see our show.

Carmel Community Players, Carmel Community Playhouse, 14299 Clay Terrace Blvd., Carmel IN, Sept 15,16,17,18,22,23,24 & 25. Call for reservations at 317-815-9387

