Well, quite a few less people showed up tonight. I actually only had one new auditioner and 3 returning actresses. So we read everyone and I went home and made my decision.

I really never take very long making a decision about whom I want to cast. It is not something I headache over, I guess. I have, in the past, had to have callbacks, but that is rare. It just seems to me to be pretty obvious who understands the play’s needs and who doesn’t. I had a lot of talented people come out and read for this one – and that made it a bit difficult to leave out someone that I knew could do a good job. But that is just part of the deal with directing.

It’s always fun to call the cast members to ask if they will accept a role. They always are happy – I know I am when I get a role. Life is just going to be a bit more interesting – as a result. A fresh show is something that means new people to meet, new characters to play, maybe some parties and friendships – but mostly the show. To be a part of a show, especially a good show, with a good script and accomplished actors, is a great thing. I hope we all will have that experience with “Almost, Maine”. I really think we will.

The down side of the auditions is notifying the people who did not get parts. This time I opted for emails – it is quicker to do and I can express myself a bit better that way. Actors, even avocational actors, never want to hear they did not get the part. It always makes you feel like you weren’t good enough and you never really know why. Of course, a director has certain ideas he is trying to fulfill with the cast he picks – whether it’s a face or a certain movement or a line-reading he notices. The successful auditioner just somehow got the director’s attention and approval. That really doesn’t mean that those who weren’t cast were bad – just not right for the part in that particular director’s vision. But it is still a pain to disappoint people. It’s just gotta be done.

